droupadi murmu: Presidential Polls 2022: Draupadi Murmu to file nomination today, PM Modi tipped to be first proposer

The NDA’s nominee for president Draupadi Murmu will file her nomination papers on Friday in the presence of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and other senior leaders.

Murmu reached New Delhi on Thursday where she met PM Modi, home minister Amit Shah, defense minister Rajnath Singh and BJP national president JP Nadda.

Four sets of nomination papers have been prepared with each set having 50 proposers and 50 endorsers. Papers were getting prepared at the residence of parliamentary affairs minister Prahlad Joshi on Thursday.

PM Modi, senior ministers Rajnath Singh and Amit Shah, and JP Nadda will be among her proposers.

Other senior ministers, chief ministers of BJP-ruled states – Uttar Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Goa, Himachal Pradesh among others – NDA MPs, MLAs and other leaders will also be present at the nomination ceremony.

Among the allies, Bihar CM Nitish Kumar will not be present. However, five MPs from his party in the leadership of JD (U) national president Lalan Singh will attend the ceremony.

Apna Dal leader and union minister Anupriya Patel and union minister Pashupati Kumar Paras will also attend the event. “Four leaders from my party will be attending the nomination,” Paras, leader of Rashtriya Lok Janshakti, told ET.

The BJD has already extended its support to Murmu and three leaders, including BJD MP Shashmit Patra and two state ministers Jagannath Saraka and Tukuni Sahu, will represent their party at the nomination.

Leaders from YSR Congress will also be present. BJP leaders told ET that some of the leaders will come on Friday morning and sign the nomination papers.

The NDA has 49% or 5,32,351 of the 1086431 votes in the electoral college for the presidential election. BJD has 31,686 votes, YSRCP 45,550 and All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam 14,940 votes. Support of either BJD or YRSCP is enough for Murmu, who is set to be the first tribal president, to win.

The electoral college for the presidential election comprises 543 Lok Sabha, 233 Rajya Sabha and 4,033 members of legislative assemblies. The total value of the parliamentarians’ votes is 5,43,200, and that of assembly members 5,43,231, totalling 1086431.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker