Major omission as UAE names T20 World Cup squad

UAE named their 15-member squad for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup with their most capped player Rohan Mustafa’s absence a major talking point.

Mustafa was not named in UAE’s ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 squad that will be led by CP Rizwan. The 33-year-old veteran had played as recently as last month for UAE, but was subsequently dropped from the playing XI during the Asia Cup qualifiers in Oman.

The selection committee Chairman of Emirates Cricket, Dr. Tayeb Kamali said that qualifying for the tournament was a major milestone for UAE Cricket.

“Qualifying to play against top national teams of the world at the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup marks a milestone with UAE Cricket’s growing strengths in the T20 format. We extend our deep appreciation to all who have invested their time and efforts as we arrive at this unique moment in Emirates Cricket’s history.

“We wish our team the very best as they continue to make their mark on international cricket at the ICC T20 World Cup.”

Robin Singh, the Director of Cricket and head coach of the UAE team also expressed his excitement at making the tournament in Australia.

“This team has a solid representation of experience and youth. It must be emphasized that UAE Cricket’s youth have continued to show their worth at various successful ICC and Asian Cricket (age-group) campaigns, and, it is their time to showcase these proven talents to the cricketing-world alongside those (selected) experienced players.

“To represent your country is of great pride and our (coaching) team has complete belief in the maturity and skills of this group of players, and we expect them to surprise a few teams with their performances.”

UAE will play Bangladesh Cricket in a two-match T20I series, starting September 25. They belong to Group A in the T20 World Cup and will begin their campaign in Australia on October 16 by taking on the Netherlands. Sri Lanka and Namibia are the other two teams in their group.

T20 World Cup squad: CP Rizwan (c), Vriitya Aravind (vc), Chirag Suri, Muhammad Waseem, Basil Hameed, Aryan Lakra, Zawar Farid, Kashif Daud, Karthik Meiyappan, Ahmed Raza, Zahoor Khan, Junaid Siddique, Sabir Ali, Alishan Sharafu, and Aayan Khan.

Reservations: Sultan Ahmed, Fahad Nawaz, Vishnu Sukumaran, Adithya Shetty, Sanchit Sharma


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker